GK Install Part 5 – Cramming it all it there!

IMG-20150224-00215

Quick update and a crappy low light cameraphone post. Plans have been scaled back a LOT. The Kahler bridge is a non-starter, it’s not a standard Strat fit into the pickguard cutout so for now the old bridge is back on there. all the GK wiring is completed with the up/down and GK/magnetic switches working just right. The magnetic pickups are disconnected for now but a quick test on Boss Tone Studio tells me the pots and switches all do what they should and the hex pickup notices when something’s vibrating near it.

Unfortunately I’ve suffered another setback here by going nearly blind in one eye which has rather compromised my soldering abilites. Surgery tomorrow, if I can still see then I’ll do more work this weekend and maybe get some strings back on the Strat. It’ll be GK only for a while but I’m a bit tired of seeing it in bits now!

Leave a comment